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Study Authorization 

•
 

House Bill 1930 (HB1930), introduced by Delegate 
Daniel Marshall during the 2011 Session of the 
General Assembly, would add a new Code section 
creating an animal abuser registry that would:
–

 
Require any adult who has been convicted of a 
felony violation of Va. Code §§

 
3.2‐6570 (cruelty to 

animals) or 3.2‐6571 (animal fighting), to register 
for 15 years.

– Failure to register or re‐register would result in a 
Class 6 felony.
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HB 1930

•
 
Registration requirements: Name, DOB, SSN*, address, 
employment, convicted offenses and localities, 
photograph, and fingerprints, (*SSN not provided to 
public).

• Must register within 10 days of residing within the 
Commonwealth and re‐register annually for 15 years. 

•
 
Sheriff would maintain a local registry, and provide 
every residence, school, humane society, animal shelter, 
and business within ½

 
mile of abuser’s residence with 

registry information. 
• Virginia State Police (VSP) would maintain a central 

registry available on their website. 
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HB 1930

• If passed, $49,321 would need to be appropriated 
to DOC in FY12. 

• Two state correctional beds and less than one 
local jail bed would be impacted by FY17.

•
 

VSP estimates that about $986,000 would be 
required to design and develop a new registry and 
website, and an additional $126,411 would be 
needed each year to support a position.

• Cost to local law enforcement is unknown. 
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Background

• The National Animal Cruelty Registry maintains an informal, 
nationwide animal abuser registry.
– Created in 1986 ‐ with over 20,000 cases.
– Includes individuals not charged, alleged abusers, and 
convictions.

– Includes full name, case file, possibly photos, conviction status, 
and other crimes. 

– Volunteers search for information related to animal abuse 
cases (newspapers, internet searches, etc.)

• Pet‐Abuse.com also maintains an informal registry. 
– Created in 2001 ‐ has over 17,500 cases. 
– Maintains information both nationally and internationally. 
– Information is not always verified.
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Background

• Virginia currently has a Sex Offender 
Registry maintained by the VSP.

•
 

Virginia currently has a Dangerous Dog 
Registry maintained by the Va. Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services. 
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VA Animal Abuse Offenses

• There are two statutes in the Virginia Code that 
penalize animal abuse.

• Va. Code § 3.2‐6570 includes:
– cruelty to animals, second or subsequent act, one 
act resulted in death;

– torture/mutilation of a dog or cat causing  death; 
and,

– killing a dog or cat for hide, fur, or pelt, second or 
subsequent act.
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VA Animal Abuse Offenses

• Va. Code § 3.2‐6571 includes:
– dogfighting activity;
–

 
using a device or substance to enhance animal’s 
ability to fight; wagering money, etc., on animal 
fighting; 

– paying or receiving admission for animal 
fighting;

– possessing, etc., animal for fighting; and,
– allowing a minor child to attend or be involved 
in animal fighting.
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Animal Abuse Felony Convictions 

Total Number of Felony Convictions for Animal Abuse, FY 2007- FY 2011
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• There were at least
 

104 felony convictions
for animal abuse over the past 5 fiscal years.

Source: Supreme Court of Virginia’s Circuit Court Management System
Note: Figures do not include Fairfax, Alexandria, and Prince William for FY 2007‐FY 2010. During FY2011, Prince William
joined the Supreme Court’s system and Virginia Beach left the system. Localities not participating in a particular year
are not included in that year’s figures.
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Animal Abuse Felony Convictions

• Of the 104 felony animal abuse convictions:
– 42 were for the torture or mutilation of a dog or 
cat causing death (§ 3.2‐6570(F)); 

– 21 were for possessing, etc. animal for fighting 
(§ 3.2‐6571(B,5)); 

– 14 were for device/substance used to enhance 
animal’s ability to fight (§ 3.2‐6571(B,2)); and, 

– 27 were for the other applicable statutes. 
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Other States/Registries

•
 

October 12, 2010: Suffolk County, NY, created the 
nation’s first public animal abuser registry by local 
ordinance.
– Requires online registration for five years following 
conviction.

•
 

May 17, 2011: Rockland County, NY, created the 
nation’s second public animal abuser registry by 
local ordinance.  
– Requires online registration for five years following 
conviction.

– Punishable offense for pet dealer to sell to anyone on 
registry. 
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Other States/Registries 

• 16 states have legislation pending that 
would create an animal abuse registry. 
– AL, CT, HI, MA, ME, NV, NH, NY, OR, PA, RI, SC, 
TN, TX, VT, and WA.

• California tried to pass legislation in 2010 to 
create an animal abuser registry. 
– It would have been partially funded by a three 
cent tax per pound of animal food.
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Policy Consideration

•
 
Should Virginia create an animal abuser 
registry and require anyone with a felony 
conviction of animal abuse to register? 



Discussion
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